Our tenants have been most generous in their reviews of Sunset Manor, and we are grateful.

These are from our listing on VRBO:

Great place near Guerneville downtown
Lovely place, with plenty of room (we were two couples). Lots of nice amenities provided as well (tv, video games, computers, wifi). Walk-able to downtown Guerneville, though it is an uphill hike on the way back to the house. Joshua 6/4/14

Relaxing Weekend
My family and I plus our two small dogs stayed here for the weekend to celebrate my parents anniversary. It happened to be pouring the entire weekend but we still had a nice time. We ate at the nearby Applewood Inn and it was delicious (5 min drive). The town was just down the hill and we also drove to Korbel (less than 10 min drive). The unit was very clean and well appointed. There were televisions in every room, two computers, WIFI, play station, books, movies, cards, a workout machine, washing machine, dishes, silverware, and more. I guess my only suggestion would be to eventually put in wood/laminate floors since it is a very dog friendly place. The hosts were very helpful and Ben even came down in the late evening after we came back from dinner to help us with the TVs. We had a really great and relaxing experience. Carmina 2/12/14

Global Trekkers
I came to Guerneville with my daughters for our special retreat weekend. The spacious and sunny private apartment was a total delight for all of us. Everything was clean and well maintained, the kitchen was generously furnished with nice quality dishes and pans, and thoughtful amenities including WiFi and two high end computers, televisions, were included everywhere -- even fresh ground gourmet coffee. My daughter discovered a great coffee house a short walk down the hill, and had fun exploring all the shops in Guerneville that were also walking distance. We spent hours in the beautiful Armstrong Redwoods State Park just down the road -- a cathedral of peace and quiet that called us back again and again. The self-contained apartment itself looks out into redwood trees and a quiet yard, and is also surrounded by the kind of quiet that let us all get deep and restful sleep. The beds are very comfortable, and the whole house feels like a private cottage getaway: A true home away from home. Perfect! We all agreed we would recommend Ben and Bill's place -- and their generous hospitality -- to friends and family, and will certainly return again and again. Thank you to Ben and Bill for offering a friendly and warm welcome, and making us feel truly at home. Highly recommended. Jen 5/28/13

Great Value!
The apartment was perfect for our girls weekend getaway. We really enjoyed the well stocked kitchen, spacious rooms, flat screen TV's in all the rooms and all the amenities to make us comfortable. the property is clean and well kept. There is a nice coffee shop in walking distance and numerous wineries in the area. Ben and Bill went out of there way to be help and we really enjoyed their hospitality. We would recommend the property to friends and family and look forward to returning. Angie 4/17/13

Loved it!
We stayed for only a few days but this clean, extremely comfortable, well located apartment provided everything we needed. The unit opened to a nice garden with a view and the kitchen was fully stocked and great to work in. The computer access and large monitors were very welcome, as were the entertainment options (large screen TV in living room and TVs in each bedroom). We were sorry to leave and plan to return! Ann 3/28/13

Visitors from the East
My husband, a good friend and I just spent a week at Sunset Manor. The cottage was perfect for our needs. We spent our days visiting with family in the area as well as taking in some vineyards. Although the kitchen is small it was more than adequate for us. The living/dining room was a great space for us to entertain and even have an overnight guest stay on the couch which was incredibly easy to convert into a bed. The patio area is lovely and well furnished. The tv and interenet equipment was beyond compare. The beds were very comforable as well. Bill and Ben have thought of everything that guests could need and were very gracious so were Victor and Victoria, their dogs. Our only problem was that the only access is by a set of stairs that were a little treacherous for the three of us who are all seniors. I would return in Sunset Manor again and again. 3/28/13

Lin
We stayed in this roomy apartment while attending a wedding. It was very comfortable for the 4 of us. I loved the redwood views and quiet neighborhood. It was an easy walk into the cute town. Bill was very helpful when we arrived and I would recommend this location to everyone. Thanks for the lovely weekend! Lin 10/16/12

Really great place, really great price
this was a great find! Very comfortable for the 6 of us. We stayed for two days (I wish we had made it three and got there a day earlier). My 2 year old son loved playing on the grass and watching videos. We really enjoyed eating dinner outside, the kitchen was great, everything was really great. Very comfortable place in a very relaxing and laid back town. Ted 7/31/12

Comfortable, Quiet, Relaxing
The apartment was exactly as described: no-frills, clean and comfortable with everything you might need while away from home. The decor was a little spartan for me with nothing but TVs on the walls in the bedrooms and the living/dining room but that's just a style thing. Great location that's an easy half mile walk to the center of town where there are good restaurants and cute shops. The river beach is equally close, and the ocean beach is only a 20 minute drive away. The redwood trees are just up the road at Armstrong Woods State Park. The hosts were friendly and responsive to requests/questions. Otherwise they basically left us alone to enjoy the quiet. They had the most comfortable sofa bed I've ever encountered, one that I would actually sleep on. So when they say the place sleeps six, they mean it. We spent 10 days there the week of the 4th of July and enjoyed the fireworks in town and barbequing on the deck with our friends & family who met up with us for part of our stay. All in all we had a very relaxing and rejuvenating time and would go back again if we were looking for a vacation rental in Guerneville. 7/18/12

Cute, cozy and perfect location!!!
Me and my friends have spent the 4th of July holiday at the Sunset Manor for the past 3 years and would not think of staying any place else. The cabin is very clean, well stocked, tv's in every room and two (not one) computers with free internet!! We love the quiet location, but are still very close to town which is a quick 5 minute drive down the hill. The owner's Ben and Bill are quite responsive and accommodating, but left us to ourselves our entire stay. I would totally recommend the Sunset Manor over a hotel or an expensive and loud resort any day! Ron 7/2/12

A perfect place to just relax!
My husband and I spent the week after Christmas at the Sun Set Manor and very much enjoyed our stay. Over the New Year we invited family from the Bay Area to enjoy some time away and the apartment very comfortably accommodate all five adults. The apartment is quiet and private and includes everything a vacationer could possible need, including a well equipped kitchen, fireplace, TV, DVD, Internet and an impressive library of movies, video games, and books. Ben and Bill were wonderful hosts who were easy to reach when needed and even provided us with firewood, which definitely made our winter vacation at Sunset Manor all the more cozy. A big thank you to Ben and Bill for providing such a relaxed environment for our much-needed vacation.  VOB 1/29/12

relaxing, immaculate and close to the redwoods
cozy, clean, quiet and all the amenities. good for groups with disparate interests, you can hike or play video games or workout in the workout room or just sit by the fire. we didn't use the deck much because it was a bit chilly, but looked like a good place to have a BBQ or just breakfast. Kitchen was better equipped than is typical, we even roasted a turkey in the oven. everything spotless and ultra-organized.  shauna 11/28/11

Perfect Race Accommodations
Bill and Ben are quirky, fun, and excellent hosts! The house was immaculately clean and roomy. Plenty of room to stage bikes and other race gear in the extra workout room. The patio is great for relaxing and watching the sunset. Sunset Manor far exceeded my expectations. I could not have asked for better accommodations and hosts. I will most definitely be staying here again. Thanks Bill and Ben!  Jean 8/8/11

Family Reunion
We rented the place before our son's wedding in mid June 2011. This was kind of family reunion with the family of our older son, we were 4 adults and 2 kids. The apartment was equiped with all our entertaining and cooking needs. My older son likes to cook and every day day we had home made dinner. We had also guests every day and we felt very comfortable. Bill and Ben did not complain when was noisy and we almost did not feel their presence. I will come back if our family will be stil in the area and recommend this place.  Izabella 7/5/11

4th of July weekend in Guerneville
My girlfriend and I recently stayed here over the 4th of July weekend and truly enjoyed it. The home is located just outside of downtown Guerneville and has a charming little yard area. The yard was vital as we were able to bring our 1.5 year old dog, who is a ball of energy. What a wonderful place to allow you to bring pets!! The space was clean with a well stocked kitchen (supplies, not food) and access to a grill. The owners, Bill & Ben, were very friendly but really left us to our own devices the entire stay. We used the rental as a home base while tasting wines and enjoying the 4th of July festivities in the area. The experience was great and I would absolutely stay here again/recommend it to friends wanting an inexpensive place to stay in the area, away from the drudgery of a typical hotel. 5 stars!!  John 7/5/11

Family Stay at Sunset Manor
The description and pictures do not do Sunset Manor justice. Three couples could have comfortably stayed at Sunset Manor, and this home allowed our family of four much more room and flexibility than a hotel. Staying here felt like home. Ben and Bill are considerate and kind people. They have gone out of their way to provide everything you could want for your stay. The flat screens, with cable and DVD players in every room, were helpful for our rainy stay with teenaged children! They also had wireless for our devices as well as providing 2 VERY nice Apple computers. The cupboards were filled with Crate and Barrel dishes, wine glasses, utensils, pots and pans. Everything was meticulously cleaned. Sunset Manor is only a couple of miles from Armstrong Redwoods and the Russian River wineries. Thanks for making our trip great!  LibrarianDonna 10/31/10

Stay at Sunset Manor
We were there two nights only but wish it could have been longer. Hosts Bill and Ben have thought of everything to make you comfortable...you only need to bring your suitcase. Other vacation rentals do not have three TVs, computers, books, or enough kitchen ware like glasses/wine glasses but this one does. We highly recommend Sunset Manor.  Sonia 9/25/10

Glo + 2
I live almost 2 hours away but met my good friend here while she visited from NY. It was so nice that I came back a forth a few times even at night to enjoy the place. It's very clean, cozy and peaceful. The owners are great and are so welcoming and helpful. We walked to Safeway for food and even with the bags and inclines it was still great. Armstrong Woods just down the street is absolutely beautiful. I can't wait to go back. But this time I don't want to be a road warrior, I want to enjoy without leaving the town :)  Glo 8/20/10

My son and I had a blast
I just left yesterday and I really enjoyed the rental. The kitchen bathroom, and bedrooms were fully stocked with everything you need. I enjoyed being in walking distance of town and being able to walk up and down the hill with ease to the grocery store. If you go make sure you check out Pee Wee Golf , it was a short distance away but perfect old fashioned fun for the family. The Mexican food truck by Safeway has the best grilled chicken burritos I have tasted in a long time. Anderson Park which is a short drive from the rental is a wonder of nature. The owners of this problem really make you feel at home and someone is always available if you need something or want to borrow video games or movies. It took approx an hour and half to drive to the Bay Area which made for a nice weekend trip to visit old friends in the area. I would rent this place again. Nik 8/18/10

Rain or Shine
I was planning to spend lots of times outdoors with my dog, but as it was we had quite a bit of rain and so we spent more time than expected at home. I think this is the time when a good accommodation can be put to the test. TV in the bedrooms+ a large screen TV with a play station in the living room. There is an Apple computer with a large screen and DSL. It's easy to keep the place warm. If you have a dog with you, it's really great to have access to a fenced area. The Sunset Manor has it all! A lot of thought went into this place, I'm sure you will enjoy it too!  rima 5/31/10

Sunset Heaven
My husband and I rented the Manor for a week. Bill & Ben are very gracious hosts. Our son attends college up in Sonoma, and he was a welcome guest as well as a friend of ours who stayed for one night. The price is unbeatable and if you are looking for comfort as well as value, then this is the place for you. Our dog was a welcome addition as well. I consider myself a gourmet chef, and as the kitchen is quite small, a good cook can make do with any space. I consider myself and my husband quite easy to please when it comes to renting units, however, I want a clean and quiet place to call my own. Sunset Manor provides all of this and more. We will definitely go back! Thanks Bill & Ben, keep up the good work!  Jo Ella 3/30/10

We stayed at Sunset Manor over MLK weekend. We picked this place because it looked nice on the website and was very reasonably priced, and we are glad we did! The weather was very bad the whole weekend so we had to stay indoor most of the time. But our stay was very pleasant. The unit is spacious and tastefully decorated, and we had no problem fitting our daughter's playpen in the bedroom. The kitchen is small but functional. Individual wall heaters in the bedrooms and the bathroom are a plus. There are many nice touches throughout the unit that show the owners have put in a lot of thought to make the place as nice as it is. I'd definitely recommend it.  Connie 1/19/10

We stayed on new year’s weekend, and are very happy to say that our stay was great. The rooms were very clean, and it had all the convenience we were looking for: Internet access, nice dining room table, kitchen with everything we needed to make our meals, a nice patio for our pet..and t.v's in every room. It was very relaxing!! The owners were also very nice and friendly. The location was really good, being very close to wineries and the coast. We'll definitely stay there again  Anonymous 5 1/17/10

We stayed just before Christmas '09 and had a great time. The accommodations were just what we were looking for. Everything was very comfortable and clean with lots of space. The owners were very hospitable. Would stay again and would recommend.  Chris 12/28/10

We booked this apartment for our annual mother daughter get-away. It was perfect for our needs. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. The kitchen, while small , had many conveniences to make meal preparation easy. The fireplace was wonderful to have on the one cool night during our stay. It is very nicely situated with a short drive to the coast or to the galaxy of wineries in the area. We used the available Internet daily to plan our activities. An ideal spot for the adventurer. While we were not able to bring our pets, a big plus is that it is very pet friendly and that is difficult if not impossible to find in vacation housing. Our hosts were great, very helpful and non intrusive. We cant' wait to come back.  Marlene 10/25/09

This was a lovely vacation rental. We were there in August with our elderly dog, and the downstairs unit was large enough and very private. The small kitchen was adequate for us to prepare our own meals. The owners are very helpful. Very peaceful and restful.  Alan 10/24/09

We recently stayed at this tastefully decorated, roomy and immaculate home. This house has endless views from both inside and out. Mornings were soft and lovely from the fog which burnt off and lunch on the beautiful deck was sunny and delightful. Bill and Ben were very accommodating and helpful whenever we needed them. They went out of their way, graciously guiding one of the members of our group who was a late arrival. Afterwards, we totally forgot they were upstairs. We all look forward to staying in this home again.  Susan 10/23/09

The Sunset Manor is beautifully set in a green and friendly neighborhood. Although it’s only 5 minutes walk from Guerneville Main Street, it is quiet and feels like being in a redwood forest. The apartment is well equipped and very clean and comfortable, with a personal touch that makes you feel at home. It was roomy enough for 3 adults and 3 kids with lots of storage place. The owners are really nice and helpful; while living at the top floor, they will keep your privacy and only show up when you need them. There is a beautiful deck and garden with stunning forest views and plenty of sunshine. Great for outside dinner, morning coffee or having wine watching the sunset. It was the perfect vacation rental for us and we’re looking forward to come back!  Guy 8/10/09

We stayed here for two nights with two families, each with small children. The home was perfect for our needs, with a large living/dining room area and plenty of storage spaces. The outside space is lovely, with a great outdoor dining setup that we didn't get a chance to use. Watching the mist drift down the valley in the mornings from the windows of the home was quite peaceful (even with the small children). The big TV and on-demand cable was a hit with the little ones. The kitchen is quite small - only one person can be in there really - but there's a bbq outside for more cooking options. The owners were very nice, and even though they live upstairs we never saw nor heard them except when we were checking in. If you are looking for a clean, functional rental in a quiet area close to town, this is a great option.   Sara 7/30/09

A great week-long stay
I rented this with the idea of staying in town and enjoying my daughter's wedding. The apartment had everything we needed (dishes, glassware, pots and pans, towels) and the accommodations were terrific. Everything is new and fresh. I had my family (five brothers and wives and other relatives) meet there one evening before the wedding and we had plenty of room to meet, eat, chat, laugh and had a wonderful time. We could easily walk down to the Coffee Bazaar for early morning coffee and stroll around town to see what was in the shops. There is a Safeway grocery store in town if you are staying/cooking in. I've eaten at a couple of restaurants in town and they are fine. Don't plan on real "upscale" dining--you won't find much of that in Guerneville. The beach in town on the Russian River is a nice place to cool off if you are interested. Kayak rentals are available in the area and it looked like lots of people took advantage of that although I didn't have time to do so. There are MANY wineries in the area and the ocean beaches aren't far away. Northwood Golf Club is an excellent course in the redwoods of Monte Rio just west of Guerneville. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to anyone and will stay again when I visit my daughter in the future.  ferrelli 7/01/09

From our listing on Flipkey (now discontinued):

4th of July Weekend in Guerneville

My girlfriend and I recently stayed here over the 4th of July weekend and truly enjoyed it. The home is located just outside of downtown Guerneville and has a charming little yard area. The yard was vital as we were able to bring our 1.5 year old dog, who is a ball of energy. What a wonderful place to allow you to bring pets!!

The space was clean with a well stocked kitchen (supplies, not food) and access to a grill. The owners, Bill & Ben, were very friendly but really left us to our own devices the entire stay. We used the rental as a home base while tasting wines and enjoying the 4th of July festivities in the area. The experience was great and I would absolutely stay here again/recommend it to friends wanting an inexpensive place to stay in the area, away from the drudgery of a typical hotel.

Far Exceeded Expectations

Bill and Ben are quirky, fun, and excellent hosts! The house was immaculately clean and roomy. Plenty of room to stage bikes and other race gear in the extra workout room. The patio is great for relaxing and watching the sunset. Sunset Manor far exceeded my expectations. I could not have asked for better accommodations and hosts. I will most definitely be staying here again. Thanks Bill and Ben!

The perfect escape from city noise

Bill and Ben were wonderfully helpful from the beginning. I was trying to arrange a small weekend getaway for myself and 4 of my best friends (all coming from different cities around the us). They were quick with their responses to my email inquiries and made everything easy while trying to book the house. We were a little later on Friday night and Bill and Ben were wonderful hosts giving us a full tour and run down of the place even though it was 11:30pm.

The weekend was perfect, the house was delightful, clean, and had everything we needed. It was easy to get into town for a Safeway run and even to the various river beaches where we laid in the sun and a swam all day.

The back patio / deck area is great for having breakfast and dinner in the warm summer air, while also enjoying a gorgeous view of the redwoods and mountains. This weekend was truly a relaxing vacation from the crazy city life. The peace and quiet really allowed my friends and I to catch up and I would happily return to Sunsent Manor the next time I am in Guerneville.

Thank you Bill and Ben for being so helpful and really allowing us to enjoy a mini-vacation. I would highly recommend this place for anyone who is looking for an affordable place to stay that feels like you are in the comfort of your own home and only minutes from Russian River.

Spacious, comfortable, and dog-friendly

Our family of four spent two days/nights in Bill and Ben's spacious downstairs apartment over Thanksgiving. We chose "Sunset Manor" primarily because it seemed a good value and they took dogs. On both counts -- value and dog-friendliness - we came away very pleased. This is a full-size two-bedroom apartment that one could actually live in full-time. The beds were comfortable and decked out in cozy, high-quality flannel sheets. We certainly didn't need a TV in every room, but I have to say it was rather nice. We didn't use the computer or video games, but I can see where those amenities would be appealing to others.

The kitchen and bathroom are dated and pretty bare bones (no kitchen supplies save coffee, salt and sugar), but we had no real complaints. There was plenty of hot water and everything functioned.

A couple of downsides: The apartment was rather cold. There were powerful wall heaters in the bedrooms, but no such heater (that we could find) in the living room. Bring thick socks and slippers.

While Bill and Ben were extremely quiet, we could hear them moving around upstairs ... and they are early risers. To be fair, though, we are light sleepers.

What I found most off-putting -- indeed, ironic as this is a dog-friendly establishment -- was how the proprietors kept their own two chihuahuas (at least while we were there): tied on short leashes on the cold front porch until dark, with nary a blanket or dog bed. The dogs had house, but it was just a plastic igloo that was far too large to trap the heat of two little dogs inside -- and again with no blanket). It gets damp and cold up there in the redwoods and having to walk past these tightly confined dogs all the time really put a damper on my mood.

From our listing on airbnb:

Bill and Ben are AWESOME! Very hospitable and clearly love hosting people, being that there were great amenities and accommodations. We plan on going back again, and would recommend them highly!